punjab polling 2022: 63.44% voter turnout till 5 pm in all 117 seats of Punjab, 18 FIRs registered


Punjab polling 2022: Polling in all 117 seats of Punjab concluded with more than 63 per cent voting till 5 pm on Sunday. Over 77 per cent turnout was recorded in the 2017 assembly elections. Punjab Chief Electoral Officer, Dr S Karuna Raju informed that 63.44% voter turnout was recorded till 5 pm for the Punjab Assembly elections. 18 FIRs were registered across the state. Special care was taken for specially abled and aged people.

Leaders of both the major opposition parties – AAP’s Bhagwant Mann and SAD’s Sukhbir Singh Badal – took to social media to express their gratitude to the voters of Punjab, claiming it signaled a change in the seat of power in Chandigarh. Voting started at 8 am

Firing, bricks and stones and swords also went


There was also sporadic violence in the polling in Punjab. Bullets were fired in Bathinda and Ferozepur. In Ferozepur, there was aerial firing in the dispute between SAD and Congress workers during the voting. However no one was injured. In Bathinda, SAD and BJP accused Congress workers of distributing money and firing. At the same time, bricks and stones were used between SAD and Congress workers in Amritsar. The windshield of a car was broken. No one got injured. In Ludhiana, two people were injured when swords were used between Congress, AAP and BJP workers. Congress Panch, his father and brother were injured in a sword attack outside Thedi polling booth in Patiala. The charge of the attack is on the SAD. Another SAD worker was also injured with a sharp weapon here. In Sirhind, Fatehgarh Sahib, there was a clash between the BJP and the Congress on the allegation of casting fake votes.

where was the vote

– Constituencies of Chief Minister Charan Singh Channi: Bhadaur – 71.30 percent, Chamkaur Sahib – 68 percent

– Constituency of AAP CM candidate Bhagwant Mann: Dhuri – 68 percent

Constituency of Sukhbir Singh Badal: Jalalabad – 71.50 percent


Parkash Singh Badal’s constituency: Long – 72.40 percent


– Constituency of Captain Amarinder Singh: Patiala City – 59.50 percent

The highest turnout was recorded in Giddarbaha constituency at 77.80 per cent and the lowest in Amritsar South at 48.06 per cent.


70.70 percent polling was recorded in Fazilka, 70.43 percent in Sangrur and 72.01 percent in Muktsar. Amritsar recorded 57.74 per cent voter turnout while Mohali recorded the lowest voter turnout of 53.10 per cent.

A total of 1,304 candidates are in the fray, including 93 women and two transgender persons.

Know the special events of the day at a glance

Actor and philanthropist Sonu Sood was barred by the Election Commission from going to polling booths in Moga following complaints about him influencing voters. His vehicle has also been seized by the police, officials said. However, Sood, who denied the allegations, alleged that other candidates were trying to buy votes. Sood’s sister Malvika Sood Sachar is the Congress candidate from Moga.


A young woman in a bride’s dress had gone to cast her vote in a village in Zirakpur, on the outskirts of Chandigarh, before performing the wedding rituals.


SAD chief Sukhbir Singh Badal and his wife and former Union minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal also cast their votes. Sukhbir Badal himself drove the vehicle and brought the family to vote in Muktsar.


AAP leader Raghav Chadha alleged in his tweet that a sarpanch tried to influence voters at a polling booth in Gurharsahai. He claimed that some EVMs are defective in Sanaur, Attari and Majitha.


Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi and AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal appealed to voters to exercise their franchise. In the morning, Charanjit Singh Channi bowed his head at religious places in his home area